Apply to ACO EarShot

ACO Earshot

EarShot is a program of the American Composers Orchestra, in partnership with the League of American Orchestras, American Composers Forum, and New Music USA. Over the past 10 years the program has initiated dozens of composer/orchestra/conductor relationships across the country offering opportunities to more than 100 composers. In 2016, ACO launched a composer archive of past EarShot compositions as a resource to the field. Orchestras across the country and around the world rely on EarShot to identify and connect with creative artists, as well as to advise on commissions, competitions, and program design.

The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra (ASO) is seeking artists/composers with works for Western symphonic orchestra (3333/4331/harp/piano/timp+3/strings) to be rehearsed, performed, and recorded in Atlanta, GA on May 9-10, 2023, offering selected participants the opportunity to collaborate with mentors consisting of both established orchestral composers and industry leaders. This collaboration with ACO is a part of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra’s aim to challenge the stereotypical image of a “composer”; works by Black and/or Latine composers and artists are eligible for this call. In addition to offering recordings of the selected works, the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra EarShot Readings will be video recorded as a part of an upcoming ASO documentary.

Click here to learn more about the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

The Naples Philharmonic is seeking artists/composers with works for Western symphonic orchestra (2222/4221/ timp, 2 perc, keyboard/strings[]) to be rehearsed, performed, and recorded in Naples, FL on May 15-16, 2023, offering selected participants the opportunity to collaborate with mentors consisting of both established orchestral composers and industry leaders. This call for scores is a part of the Naples Philharmonic’s initiatives to advance the work of women composers. All composers who are women are eligible to apply for this call for scores.

Click here to learn more about the Naples Philharmonic 

There is no application fee for either of these opportunities. Travel (up to $700) and local accommodations are provided. Featured artists will receive recordings of their works for both personal and professional use.



    • Both opportunities are for composers/artists who have had 2 or fewer pieces performed by a professional orchestra (30+ players). College and festival orchestra performances do not count toward the number of pieces “performed by a professional orchestra.”
  • Composers/artists who are Black and/or Latine/a/o are eligible for the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra EarShot Readings.
  • Composers/artists who are women are eligible to apply for the Naples Philharmonic EarShot Readings. 
    • U.S. applicants must be either a U.S. citizen or non-citizen lawfully and permanently residing or studying full-time in the United States. DACA recipients are eligible to apply. Mexican, Canadian, Central American, and South American applicants must be a citizen or non-citizen lawfully and permanently residing or studying full-time in their respective countries.
    • There are no age restrictions; applicants should be composers/artists at the early stages of their professional orchestral careers.
    • Composers selected to participate in any previous EarShot Reading are ineligible.
    • Applicants not previously selected are welcome to re-apply to EarShot with a new score.
  • Scores submitted for a 2022-23 EarShot Reading by composers who meet the eligibility requirements are eligible for resubmission.


Application Instructions

    • Compositions that include MIDI, digital technology, amplification, and/or sound reinforcement will be considered by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra.
    • Do not submit recordings.
    • Incomplete, illegible, or late applications will not be considered.  
        • Applicants may submit one work for each opportunity. Applicants may not submit multiple scores for either opportunity.
        • Works that have been previously read/performed by professional orchestras are only eligible for submission if the work has undergone major revisions.
        • Compositions must be less than 15 minutes in length. A portion or movement from a longer work will be considered.
      • Submitted works must not exceed the instrumentation parameters outlined by the Naples Philharmonic (2222/4221/ timp, 2 perc, keyboard/strings[]) and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra (3333/4331/harp/piano/timp+3/strings), respectively.


      • Composers selected are responsible for delivering professional-quality score and parts; a printing stipend of $250 will be provided to offset costs. 

        Travel (up to $700) and accommodations will be provided. 


Upcoming Deadlines

Before submitting an application, carefully review the eligibility and submission guidelines for each call. A complete submission must include the following:

  • A completed online submission form.
  • A PDF of the score clearly labeled with the composer’s name and title of the work on the cover page.
  • There is no application fee.

Application Receipt Deadline: Friday, October 28, 2022 11:59 PM EST

Selected Composer/Artist Notification: Friday, December 9, 2022

If Selected

  • Composers/artists will be notified via email by December 9, 2022. Alternates will be invited to participate at a later date, as needed.
  • Composers must be available and ready to attend the required reading sessions, feedback meetings and professional development workshops. Childcare and/or accommodations for physical disability and neurodiversity will be provided upon request.
  • Composers must provide professional, legible orchestral parts and scores prepared according to guidelines established by the Major Orchestral Librarians Association. Materials for the first reading session must be delivered no later than 45 days before the reading session for which they have been selected.
  • Composers must submit self-portraits/headshots and a short biography for media purposes.  
  • Composers must agree to be videotaped/audio recorded for archival and promotional purposes, and to have their music recorded for archival and study purposes.

About Our Review & Selection Process

Scores are reviewed by a panel of composers representing various backgrounds, demographics, and musical styles. Panelists rate the scores numerically on criteria including originality, technical proficiency, and orchestration. Selected scores will advance to a second round of panelists comprised of ACO artistic staff, who will in turn select a group of finalists. From these finalists, participants for each opportunity will be selected by the artistic staff of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and the Naples Philharmonic, respectively. 

Review panelists from the past four years include Shawn Okpebholo, Michi Wiancko, Kathryn Alexander, David Biedenbender, Lisa Bielawa, Chen Yi, Anthony Cheung, Rob Deemer, Man Fang, Gabriela Lena Frank, Jimmy Lopez, Eric Nathan, Clint Needham, Gabriela Ortiz, Elizabeth Ogonek, Kate Soper, Ken Ueno, Dan Visconti, Wang Jie, Wang Lu, Xi Wang, Trevor Weston, and Lidiya Yankovskaya.

Questions & Information

For questions or comments on EarShot or the call for scores, please contact Garrett McQueen, Director of Artist Equity: 


Our Mission & Vision

American Composers Orchestra (ACO) is dedicated to the creation, celebration, performance, and promotion of orchestral music by American composers. With commitment to diversity, disruption and discovery, ACO produces concerts, pre-college and college education programs, and emerging composer professional development to foster a community of creators, audience, performers, collaborators, and funders.

Receive the latest news

Join Our Mailing List!

Get notified about new events, opportunities and the latest ACO happenings