Phenomenal Women

"PHENOMENAL WOMEN is a concerto for Wind Quintet and Chamber Orchestra to be premiered by Imani Winds and American Composers Orchestra, inspired by Maya Angelou’s poem and book, PHENOMENAL WOMAN. As Angelou’s poem touts an empowered tone, the arc of the multi-movement work will leap through sounds of Atonality, Urban Classical, Brazilian Choro, Bebop, Swing and Afro-Cuban Jazz. Musical motifs will be extracted from Angelou's sensuous and peppery verses. Each movement will carry emboldened harmonies and improvisational-stylized riffs from the soli, evolving into virtuoso exchanges between forces. Between the larger movements will be short segments which I refer to as SHERO INTERLUDES (working title). These multi-faceted, cadenza-like segments not only showcase the soloists(with light support from the orchestra), but will also serve as catalysts from which main movements emerge and develop. The spirit and process behind the interludes will be informed by the efforts of phenomenal women who have energized me through their transcendental efforts: activist Malala Yousefai (Oboe serenade), Brazilian Olympic Gold medalist Rafaela Silva (Clarinet in Choro style), athlete Serena Williams (Bassoon virtuoso cadenza),Michelle Obama (Flute w Urban/Jazz elements) and Hillary Clinton (Horn fanfare). The segments will be written with the capabilities and personalities of each Imani Winds member in mind.Phenomenal Woman is about celebrating women's efforts to overcome adversity, no matter where you are."

Soloists: Imani Winds
Work Categories: ,

ACO Performances

Phenomenal Women

November 2, 2018 7:30 pm
Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall

Meet ACO Composers

Watch ACO Composer Portrait Videos

To preserve and promote new American Music, we assemble and maintain an extensive video and audio archive of the works we perform.

Read written Q&A with Composers

ACO is dedicated to the creation, celebration, performance, and promotion of orchestral music by American composers.

Our Mission & Vision

American Composers Orchestra (ACO) is dedicated to the creation, celebration, performance, and promotion of orchestral music by American composers. With commitment to diversity, disruption and discovery, ACO produces concerts, pre-college and college education programs, and emerging composer professional development to foster a community of creators, audience, performers, collaborators, and funders.

Receive the latest news

Join Our Mailing List!

Get notified about new events, opportunities and the latest ACO happenings